Collabro – Act Two Tour

Six months ago I was browsing YouTube (as you do) and came across this lovely group of lads. I hadn’t seen them before so it was a very pleasant surprise. Like many others I was totally blown away by their performance and I just knew that I had to go and see them in concert.

Last night my sister and I had the opportunity to do just that, so across the river we went, to the stunning Royal Liverpool Philharmonic. While waiting (im)patiently  for the highly anticipated main event, we were treated to the amazing talents of  AJ Brown, a young up-and-coming singer-songwriter from Yorkshire. A daunting task to be opening the evening I am sure, but he did not disappoint. Performing a selection of his own songs, he was an instant hit with the audience. I would say that he is definitely someone to watch out for and I hope someday to see him at a concert of his own.

Of course then it was on to the show. Wow! And I mean ‘wow’. I really can’t put into words just how good Collabro actually are. To finally see them live was absolutely fantastic. Their performance was amazing, and I don’t just mean their vocal talent; despite their success they really are a lovely, down-to-earth bunch of lads. It would be extremely hard not to like them to be honest.

Interspersed with some amusing stories, they sang a wonderful selection of songs including numbers from  Les Misérables, Cats, and Phantom – which totally raised the roof  by the way. They also sang a couple of swing numbers which I felt they were very suited to.  One very touching moment during the evening was when Thomas sadly informed us of his Grandad’s passing that morning. As a tribute they sang Bring Him Home which resulted in a well-deserved standing ovation. My heart goes out to Thomas and his family at this sad time and I really admire his bravery in performing last night. Your Grandad would be proud, Thomas.

Special guest of the evening was the stunning Catriona Murray  and she sang several times throughout the night. She has such a beautiful voice and it was an absolute pleasure to see her perform.

I am so glad that I discovered Collabro just those few short months ago and it was an absolute privilege to see them live.  I will certainly be going to see them again at the earliest opportunity, but for now I will have to content myself to listening to their music and stalking watching them once again on YouTube.

Thank you, Collabro. You were classy, you were sexy, you were funny and most of all you were ‘stars’.

 

Leave a Reply

